In December of 2015, community leaders from Eastern Colorado formalized an arrangement for the creation of the Eastern Colorado Community Fund (ECCF) – a component fund of the Community Foundation of Northern Colorado.

The ECCF provides community foundation services to everyone in Eastern Colorado.

We are in the midst of the largest transfer of wealth in history, as heirs move away from rural America. This wealth is often forever lost from these rural communities. If just a small percentage of inter-generational wealth was gifted back to its community of origin, it could provide substantial dollars for long-term community benefit.

Eastern Colorado Community Fund

The ECCF has its own distinct identity and a full-time Eastern Colorado director, currently based in Haxtun, CO. All funds established to benefit Eastern Colorado communities — whether Donor Advised, Scholarship, Designated, Field of Interest, or Unrestricted — are part of the Eastern Colorado portfolio of funds. A local ECCF advisory board – comprised of two members from six Northeastern Colorado counties – is responsible for grantmaking from the unrestricted portion of ECCF portfolio of funds.

Donors are encouraged to consider leaving a lasting legacy for Eastern Colorado through major gifts such as real estate, mineral rights, water rights, and estate gifts. Over the long term, these gifts will strengthen future generations in the areas of education, the arts, recreation, healthcare, entrepreneurship, and more. These community assets will provide the basis for creating and retaining jobs, attracting new commercial ventures, and expanding existing businesses and industry. The combined effect will be heightened opportunities and economic growth across the region.

Sterling Community Fund

The Sterling Community Fund is an endowment created by local residents to provide a sustainable funding source for projects that make Logan County a more attractive place to live, raise a family, establish a business, and retire. Visit the Sterling Community Fund page for information.

Contact ECCF Director, John Chapdelaine with any questions or to learn more.

John Chapdelaine

Director, Eastern Colorado Community Fund
(970) 224-3462

In the News

Eastern Colorado Community Fund Board of Directors

Logan County:
Mike White (Chair)
Steve Meier

Phillips County:
Brenda Brandt
Ross Edwards

Sedgwick County:
Rod Green
Vic Johnson

Morgan County:
John Sneed
Sharon Kauffman

Washington County:
Chris Frasier
Roger Schenk

Yuma County:
Justin Coughlin
Laurie Jones

Original ECCF Board

Thanks to the community leaders who initiated the Eastern Colorado Community Fund and shaped its vision:

Logan County:
Larry Fetzer
Jim Horner
Cindy Johnson
Jay Lee
Steve Meier
Trae Miller
Rich O’Connell
Curt Pilkington
Marc Reck
Kathy Reinhardt
Rick Sanger
Karen Torres
Pam Werner

Phillips County:
Julia Biesemeier
Randy Schafer

Sedgwick County:
Mike Sullivan

Yuma County:
Jim Hendrix

Yvonne Draxler | Executive Director, Sterling Family Resource Center
“Through excellent management talent, tremendous passion, and gifted strategic thinking, the Eastern Colorado Community Fund has helped Sterling’s Family Resource Center grow and deepen its impact in this rural community. Behind donors’ gifts are stories of people whose lives are positively impacted as a result of our nearly four-year partnership.”